Let’s Talk About Books or I Like Big Books or other 90s music references about books…

I’ve had this blog for a few years on Blogger, only to abandon it, come back to it, abandon it again a few times over. But this time. THIS time, I am serious about.  In an effort to revamp the blog I have moved it over to the more serious WordPress and provide an update on my recent readings.

I have become a better reader. Moreover, I have made myself a more accountable reader.

First, I have kept a running log of books that I am reading because I can feel my age creeping up and I find myself not being able to remember if I have read a book or not. I missed out on reading All The Light We Cannot See early on because I thought I read it, but I didn’t. It was good. Makes me wish I read it when it came out. I can be one of those annoying people that quietly delight in being someone who “knew about it first”. Sorry.

This year I have regularly attended my local book club and it has kept me on track and has allowed me to read things I would not read or give me the opportunity to read books that I have been putting off. In addition to the book club, I have been working on this Pop Chart Lab 100 Essential Novel scratch off poster. I currently have 21.5 completed. The .5 is from reading 1/2-ish of Gone With the Wind. I could not keep going. I couldn’t. I tried. It beat me.

Here is the link if you are interested in your own. Pop Chart Lab

popchartlab books

At this point in 2017 I am currently reading my 19th book, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Below you will find the list of all the books that I have read this year with a rating out of five.

The full reviews will restart when I finish The Hate U Give.

I am really looking forward to writing my reviews and connecting to other book lovers!

 

The list of books read thus far in 2017

My Grandmother Told Me To Tell You She’s Sorry -Fredrik Backman 3.5/5

Commonwealth -Ann Patchett 4/5

The Painted Bird -Jerry Kosinski 2.5/5

The Hillbilly Elegy -J.D. Vance 4/5

White Teeth -Zadie Smith 3/5

The Underground Railroad -Colson Whitehead 2.5/5

Lyndon Johnson & The American Dream -Doris Kerns Goodwin 5/5

American Pastoral -Phillip Roth 4/5

A Really Big Lunch: The Roving Gourmand on Food & Life -Jim Harrison 1/5

Silence -Shusaku Endo 2.5/5

Tinkers -Paul Harding 5/5

Family Furnishings -Alice Munro 4/5

The Sellout -Paul Beatty 4.5/5

Dandelion Wine -Ray Bradbury 5/5

All The Light We Cannot See -Anthony Doerr 5/5

Gone With the Wind -Margaret Mitchell 0/5

What Happened -Hillary Rodham Clinton 4/5

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl -Anne Frank 5/5

 

Leave a comment